Edison on my mind…

As I spent much of the day traveling and thinking about what I’m going to say to leaders of Edison’s great company, I focused my thoughts on Edison. Some of his quotes, some of his inventions, and what I could pick up from him. In doing so, I came across the following quote from the great Thomas Edison.

“From his neck down a man is worth a couple of dollars a day, from his neck up he is worth anything that his brain can produce.”

Reading it made me smile and gave me just an inkling of a sense that I was very well aligned with this genius because I have a quote very similar to this and that is “The best way to be indespensable is to profit based on what you know versus getting paid for what you do.” I recall mentoring young boys and challenging them to cautiously pursue sports and entertainment as their livelihood as those fields were strongly dependent on aspects of life that can be easily changed or that age or that can be easily destroyed. But if you were in a field where what was in your brain guided your contribution then you could maintain a high level of success for decades without worry of what might happen to your body.

Anyway, I eventually completed my outline of thinking but before doing so I saw a few others. One being, “The thing I lose patience with the most is the clock. Its hands move too fast.” I’m especially thinking about this one now that I’m four hours from needing to wake up to start my day. But I dare to worry because as Edison stated, ” As a cure for worrying, work is far better than whiskey. I always found that, if I began to worry, the best thing I could do was focus upon doing something useful and then work very hard at it. Soon, I would forget what was troubling me.”

And with that, I’ve successfully overcome worry for the night and definitely succumb to the clock and its oh so fast hands.

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

